Emmet Daly (former student) competes in Powerchair European Nations Cup

Emmet DalyEmmett Daly, a former student of AIT, competed in the Powerchair European Nations Cup football championships recently. The team ended a memorable first ever European Nations Cup with a dramatic penalty shoot-out loss to Belgium in the third-placed play-off at University of Limerick today.

Nick Harrison’s side produced one of their best displays of a brilliant week with a dramatic 0-0 draw with the highly regarded Belgians and extra-time failed to produce a winner.

Emer O’Sullivan’s scored Ireland’s spot-kick but unfortunately for the home side three Belgians hit the target to clinch the win in the most dramatic fashion.

“It was an incredible performance from our side,” said coach Harrison. “We had a few chances but just didn’t get the rub of the green – when it went to penalties the Belgians couldn’t be beaten but we could not be prouder of the players. Roll on the World Cup!”

Ireland’s team will now turn their minds to the World Cup in 2015 after a week where they learned so much and developed as a team.

The remarkable French team ended up claiming the title after a 5-0 victory over England in the final. It was a fitting end to a sensational week from France as they won every game they played and conceded just twice on their way to winning the historic first European Nations Cup.

France took the lead through Weiss after 11 minutes then added the same player a second three minutes direct from a free-kick.

After the break France went 3-0 up through Ghelami and although England pressed to get back in the game two goals in the final three minutes from Delmas and Reniers gave Les Bleus the gold.

IRELAND: Thomas Winters, Aoife McNicholl, Thomas Donogher, Emer O’Sullivan (C), Patrick Flanagan, Emmet Daly, Keith Hayes, Neil Sheehan.


Thursday, July 17
Ireland 2-0 Switzerland, University of Limerick.

Friday, July 18
Ireland 1-1 Denmark, University of Limerick;
Ireland 0-14 France, University of Limerick.

Saturday, July 19
Ireland 1-4 England, University of Limerick
Ireland 0-2 Belgium, University of Limerick
Semi-final: Ireland 1-16 France, University of Limerick

Sunday, July 20
Third-Fourth Play-off: Ireland 0-0 Belgium, University of Limerick (Belgium won 3-1 on pens)
Final: France 5-0 England, University of Limerick